Brent Geese Day

Saturday 18 February, 10am - 2pm

‘Brent Goose Day’ celebrates the hordes of geese that spend winter in Essex. We are encouraging as many people as possible to get out and about to savour the ‘Brents’, before the birds begin their epic migration back to the Arctic to breed.

Go for a walk along our coast to see the birds - or join Trust experts at Blue House Farm or Fingringhoe Wick nature reserves, to see the Brent Geese and other winter wildlife. 

Find a Visitor Centre

Essex is blessed with a rich and varied wildlife heritage. It is arguably most famous for its long and sometimes barren coastline that many can enjoy: the rivers, some wonderful ancient woodland, mosaic and grassland, important brownfield sites and coastal grazing marshes. However there is more to Essex than this, with heaths, wetlands and important wildlife corridors scattered throughout the county within the wider farmed countryside. These beautiful and often vulnerable wild places are not static and have evolved gradually over thousands of years in response to climate, soil, water and the impact of humans.

1:  Abberton Reservoir Visitor Centre

Church Road, Layer-de-la Haye, Colchester, Essex, CO2 0EU
Tel: 01206 738172 Email: abberton@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

2:  Bedfords Park Visitor Centre

Broxhill Road, Harold Hill, Romford, Essex, RM4 1QH
Tel: 01708 748646 Email: bedfords@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

3: Belfairs Woodland Centre

Eastwood Road North, Leigh on Sea, Essex, SS9 4LR
Tel: 01702 477467 Email: belfairs@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

4:  Chafford Gorges Visitor Centre

Drake Road, Chafford Hundred, Grays, Thurrock, Essex, RM16 6RW
Tel: 01375 484016 Email: chafford@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

5:  Fingringhoe Wick Visitor Centre

South Green Road, Fingringhoe, Colchester, Essex, CO5 7DN
Tel: 01206 729678 Email: fingringhoe@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

6:  Hanningfield Reservoir Visitor Centre

Hawkswood Road, Downham, Billericay, Essex, CM11 1WT
Tel: 01268 711001 Email: hanningfield@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

7: Ingrebourne Valley Visitor Centre

Hornchurch Country Park, Squadrons Approach, Hornchurch, RM12 6DF 
Tel: 01708 520364 Email: ingrebourne@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

8:  Langdon Visitor Centre

3rd Avenue, Lower Dunton Road, Basildon, Essex, SS16 6EB
Tel: 01268 419 103 Email: langdon@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

9:  The Naze Education & Visitor Centre

Old Hall Lane, Walton-on-the-Naze, CO14 8LE
Tel: 01255 679379 Email: naze@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

10:  Thorndon Countryside Centre

Thorndon Park North, The Avenue, Brentwood, Essex, CM13 3RZ
Tel: 01277 232944 Email: thorndon@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)

11:  Thurrock Thameside Nature Park

Cory Environmental Trust Visitor Centre, Mucking Wharf Road, Mucking, Stanford-le-Hope, Essex, SS17 0RN
Tel: 01375 643342 Email: ttnp@essexwt.org.uk
Opening hours: Daily 9am - 5pm (November, December and January 9am - 4pm)