Help marine wildlife and combat plastic pollution in Essex

Naze beach clean

Essex Wildlife Trust is calling for volunteers to get involved with monthly beach cleans

The recent stormy weather has washed up all manner of debris along the Essex coastline, including a variety of plastic pollution. If you would like to lend a hand and do your bit to help marine wildlife, look no further; Essex Wildlife Trust has lots of microplastic-specific cleans happening throughout the year at their Naze Centre.

The Naze is a unique coastal landscape of outstanding geological and biological importance. As the most easterly peninsula in Essex, it is an important site for wildlife, both terrestrial and marine. The Naze Centre runs regular beach cleans with volunteers to keep the beaches and surrounding areas clean and safe for wildlife. Now the centre is focussing on microplastics; plastics smaller than 5mm in size. This may seem like a monumental task, but with willing volunteers and the helping hands of The Environment Agency, Anglian Water and The Marine Conservation Society, Essex Wildlife Trust hopes to have cleared the majority of the pollution by the end of the year following monthly microplastic-focused beach cleans.

If you would like to join in with one of the microplastic beach cleans, please see the list of dates below:

  • Thursday 5th March 11.00-13.00
  • Thursday 2nd April 11.00-13.00
  • Saturday 2nd May 11.00-13.00
  • Thursday 11th June 11.00-13.00
  • Thursday 9th July 11.00-13.00
  • Wednesday 12th August 11.00-13.00
  • Wednesday 9th September 11.00-13.00
  • Thursday 8th October 11.00-13.00
  • Saturday 7th November 11.00-13.00
  • Wednesday 9th December 11.00-13.00

There has already been an influx of volunteers and help from the local community which is really positive to see but the Trust is always looking for new volunteers, as many hands make light work!

Equipment is provided. Visit The Naze events page for more information.