Meet the stars of our Barn Owl webcam

Photo: Darren Lindsey

2019 has been a successful year for our Barn Owls at Blue House. After months of watching them online we can finally reveal the photos and details of our three Owlets.

Meet the stars of our Barn Owl webcam

Our owlets were ringed on Tuesday 9th July by BTO (British Trust for Ornithology), they hold the required licenses to handle Barn Owls. Our owlets are now 7 weeks old and most are ringed around this stage. Owl ringing provides important information that underpins conservation work for owls in the same way as for all other birds. Records of great longevity show that ringing has no impact on the birds’ health or survival. 

Owlet 1
We believe this is a female, it had quite a lot of spotting on its flanks.
Weight 428g, measured 97/92mm
Owlet 2
Sex unknown (unfortunately this one was too young to tell).
Weight 395g, measured 63/61mm
Owlet 3
Sex unknown (again this one was too young to tell).
Weight 390g, measured 53/51mm

Timeline of events

Wednesday 17th April - 1st egg laid
Saturday 20th April - 2nd egg laid
Monday 22nd April - 3rd egg laid
Wednesday 24th April - 4th egg laid
Friday 26th April - 5th egg laid
Monday 29th April - 6th egg laid 
- - - - - - - - -
Wednesday 22nd May - 1st egg hatched
Friday 24th May - 2nd egg hatched
Sunday 26th May - 3rd egg hatched
Tuesday 28th May - 4th egg hatched 
Saturday 1st June - 5th egg hatched
6th egg didn't hatch
- - - - - - - - -
Monday 3rd June - We have sadly lost the 2 smallest chicks
Tuesday 9th July - The 3 remaining Owlets were ringed by BTO